Wednesday, 24/1/2018 | 7:33 UTC+0

Glasgow Futures $10k Men’s Main Draws Set

Men’s Qualifying for the first British $10k, the ITF Futures event in Glasgow, finished yesterday evening and was followed by the main draw. With some surprise entrants and some interesting results from qualifying, it should be a tasty tournament to look forward to with plenty of Brits in action.

In the first qualifying round, there were there were seven qualifying wildcards given to Brits, with Ewen Lumsden, Paul Jubb and Ryan Storrie winning their first matches. Also showing up in the qualifying draw rather unexpectedly was Liam Broady, who took the top qualifying seeding and a bye into the second round. There were several interesting all British match-ups in the first round of qualifying, with Jamie Praditngam beating Ben Draper 6-4 6-2, Marcus Walters defeating Matthew Chadwick 7-5 6-2, Luke Oakley beating higher-ranked Samuel Ferguson 6-2 6-2, and young Jack Molloy defeating James Davis 7-6(2) 6-1.

The seeds got involved in the second round of qualifying, with Broady overcoming Denis Nguyen 7-5 6-2 and second seed Neil Pauffley defeating fellow Brit Luke Oakley in three tough sets, 4-6 7-6(7) 6-4. The most disappointing result was sixth seed James Marsalek’s defeat to Norwegian Joachim Bjerke 6-4 0-6 6-3, while Joshua Sapwell, on an excellent winning streak after claiming the British Tour title in Bath a couple of weeks ago, defeated 12th seed Gianluca di Nicola of Italy in straight sets 6-3 6-2, in the most impressive result of the round. Ryan Storrie made it through to the final round thanks to a retirement, while eighth seed Scott Clayton made it five with a routine 6-2 6-1 win over Evan McNicol of Canada.

In the final qualifying round, four of the five Brits qualified for the main draw. Liam Broady made hard work of his Swedish opponent, winning 5-7 6-3 7-5 in a match rather too close for comfort, while Neil Pauffley won 6-3 6-2 over German Timon Reichelt. Sapwell extended his winning streak to 8 matches with a very impressive 6-2 6-4 victory over the 4th qualifying seed George von Massow of Germany, while Scott Clayton also eased through against Milos Sekulic of Sweden 6-4 6-2. The only loser in the final qualifying round was Ryan Storrie, who went down 6-4 6-4 to seventh seed Raymond Sarmiento of America, fighting hard all the way.

In the main draw, Liam Broady is the top seed after coming through qualifying, and will face Joshua Sapwell in what could be a very interesting match-up, with Sapwell very much on the ascendency after coming back from a lengthy injury lay-off and Broady struggling for form at the start of 2015. Wildcards were handed to Joshua Ward-Hibbert, thanks to his Tier 1 British Tour victories at the start of January, plus Scots Jonny O’Mara and Ewan Moore. Other all British match-ups include Neil Pauffley vs Daniel Smethurst and Joshua Milton, the third seed, against Richard Gabb. David Rice, Luke Bambridge and Lloyd Glasspool are all also in the draw.

Qualifying Results

All players GBR unless stated.

First Qualifying Round

[qWC/1] Liam Broady vs BYE
Jack Molloy bt James Davis 7-6(2) 6-1
[q2] Neil Pauffley vs BYE
Luke Oakley bt Samuel Ferguson 6-2 6-2
[qWC] Paul Jubb bt [qWC] Ruairidh Fraser 6-2 6-2
[qWC] Ewen Lumsden bt Samuel Bothwell (IRL) 3-6 6-2 6-2
Marcus Walters bt Matthew Chadwick 7-5 6-2
Joshua Sapwell bt Chris Anguelov (BUL) 6-3 6-3
Aidan McHugh bt [qWC] Aaron Hepburn 6-1 6-1
Peter Bothwell (IRL) bt Edward Colclough 6-1 6-0
[q6] James Marsalek vs BYE
Joachim Bjerke (NOR) bt Sizya Kivanda 6-1 4-6 6-1
Harry Meehan bt [qWC] David Gunn 6-2 6-2
Victor Ouvrard (FRA) bt Imran Aswat 7-5 6-1
[qWC] Ryan Storrie bt Ben Davis 3-6 6-1 6-2
[q8] Scott Clayton vs BYE
Evan McNicol (CAN) bt Nicholas Nugent 6-4 6-3
Jamie Praditngam bt Ben Draper 6-4 6-2

Second Qualifying Round

[qWC/1] Liam Broady bt Denis Nguyen (USA) 7-5 6-2
[q9] Daniel Appelgren (SWE) bt Jack Molloy 6-3 6-0
[q2] Neil Pauffley bt Luke Oakley 4-6 7-6(7) 6-4
[q10] Timon Reichelt (GER) bt [qWC] Paul Jubb 6-3 6-7(0) 6-4
[q16] Andrea Vavassori (ITA) bt [qWC] Ewen Lumsden 6-2 6-1
[q4] George von Massow (GER) bt Marcus Walters 6-4 6-4
Joshua Sapwell bt [q12] Gianluca di Nicola (ITA) 6-3 6-2
[q8] Fred Simonsson (SWE) bt Aidan McHugh 4-6 6-1 6-4
Joachim Bjerke (NOR) bt [q6] James Marsalek 6-4 0-6 6-3
[q13] Baptiste Crepatte (FRA) bt Harry Meehan 6-3 3-6 6-0
[qWC] Ryan Storrie bt [q14] Jelle Sels (NED) 5-5 ret.
[q8] Scott Clayton bt Evan McNicol (CAN) 6-2 6-1
[q11] Milos Sekulic (SWE) bt Jamie Praditngam 6-3 6-3

Final Qualifying Round

[qWC/1] Liam Broady bt [q9] Daniel Appelgren (SWE) 5-7 6-3 7-5
[q2] Neil Pauffley bt [q10] Timon Reichelt (GER) 6-3 6-2
Joshua Sapwell bt [q4] George von Massow (GER) 6-2 6-4
[q7] Raymond Sarmiento (USA) bt [qWC] Ryan Storrie 6-4 6-4
[q8] Scott Clayton bt [q11] Milos Sekulic (SWE) 6-4 6-2

Main Draw

All players GBR unless stated.

[Q/1] Liam Broady vs [Q] Joshua Sapwell
[Q] Scott Clayton vs [Q] Romain Bauvy (FRA)
Lloyd Glasspool vs [Q] Baptiste Crepatte (FRA)
[WC] Joshua Ward-Hibbert vs [4] Maxim Dubarenco (BLR)
[WC] Jonny O’Mara vs [Q] Andrea Vavassori (ITA)
[Q] Neil Pauffley vs Daniel Smethurst
Luke Bambridge vs [8] Peter Kobelt (USA)
David Rice vs [Q] Raymond Sarmiento (USA)
Richard Gabb vs [3] Joshua Milton
[WC] Ewan Moore vs ?

For full draws and results, visit the ITF website.


25-year-old University of St Andrews graduate with a rather insane passion for British Tennis. Boston United fan (don't ask). Favourite tennis player: the Brummie bunch - Dan Evans and Lloyd Glasspool.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2015 — Britennis. All Rights Reserved